Certified Lay Speakers


Some lay people within the Minnesota Conference have been called to serve God through preaching. Those who have gone through training and become certified lay speakers are available to provide pulpit supply in local churches across the state. You’re welcome to contact any of these individuals to invite them to preach at your church.

Big Waters

Don Anderson
(507) 402-4016
handymandon2@gmail.com
Home church: Coon Rapids UMC

Karen Buttery
(612) 618-1951
rgbutterykm@q.com
Home church: Osseo UMC

Faye Christensen
(218) 828-8504
fayechris@brainerd.net
Home church: Park UMC (Brainerd)

Tammy Gallagher
(320) 406-7824
tammycrumc@gmail.com
Home church: Coon Rapids UMC (Minneapolis)

Dennis Hebrink
(651) 464-3060
eldonlee1@q.com
Home church: Wyoming UMC

Steve Knight
(763) 689-0324
steve@knightinspect.com
Home church: Common Ground UMC (Cambridge)

Leo Lambert, Jr.
(218) 590-3065
leolambertjr@gmail.com
Home church: Asbury UMC (Duluth)

Debbie Merrick
(218) 391-8778
committonow@aol.com
Home church: Asbury UMC (Duluth)

Valerie Prax
(612) 205-1099
mvprax@q.com
Home church: Mora UMC

Connie Skillingstad
(651) 210-8533
cyskill@q.com
Home church: Freshwaters UMC (Isanti, Princeton)

Terry Skoczen
(320) 393-3498
atskoczen@jetup.net
Home church: Grace UMC (St. Cloud)

Barry Swanson
(612) 210-9360 or (763) 420-2239
secureitmn@Hotmail.com
Home church: Immanuel UMC (Corcoran)

North Star

Erin Balbach
(218) 639-0554
erinbalbach@gmail.com
Home church: Hewitt UMC

Connie Bloom
(218) 262-4939
connbloo@yahoo.com
Home church: Wesley UMC (Hibbing)

Charlotte Britney
(218) 208-2604
gcbrit@scicable.com
Home church: Pengilly UMC

Susan Cafferty
(320) 382-6316
susancafferty@willmarumc.org
Home church: Willmar UMC

Faye Christensen
(218) 838-8504
fayechris@brainerd.net
Home church: Park UMC (Brainerd)

Julie French
(320) 247-2212
deckofeyes@yahoo.com
Home church: First UMC (Ortonville)

Susan Clark Harris
(218) 838-2579
sclarkharris@mlecwb.net
Home church: Aitkin UMC

Robert Eddy
(320) 894-3009
rneddy@mac.com
Home church: Litchfield UMC

Jan Eifealdt
(320) 305-0652
janeifealdt@midco.net
Home church: Zion UMC (Bellingham)

Marion Hansen
(218) 837-5572
marionha@wcta.net
Home church: Sebeka UMC

Florence Hedeen
218-732-9226
fbhedeen@gmail.com
Home church: Riverside UMC (Park Rapids)

Jacob Holck
(320) 241-2762
j.holck.mn@gmail.com
Home church: Grace UMC (Paynesville)

Jayne Koskiniemi
(218) 837-5275
koskfarm@wcta.net
Home church: Sebeka UMC

Robert Kutter
(320) 285-5114 or cell (320) 491-5604
bkutter@meltel.net
Home church: Grey Eagle UMC

Jesse Nix
(218) 290-3478
nixjesue@emily.net
Home church: Emily UMC

Sue Nix
(218) 290-3589
nixjesue@emily.net
Home church: Emily UMC

Artis (Arty) Tallman
(218) 445-5780
leedlee21952@yahoo.com
Home church: Verndale UMC

River Valley

Samantha Evans
218-232-7559
samanthaanneevans@gmail.com
Home church: Christ UMC (Rochester)

Crystal Henderson
(651) 212-3962
rwfumcyouth@gmail.com
Home church: First UMC (Red Wing)

Libby Henslin  (completed LLP training)
(507) 374-6422 
lkhenslin@gmail.com
Home church: Kasson UMC

John Hickey
(507) 896-4999
hickey12@acegroup.cc
Home church: Money Creek UMC

Carol Ottoson
(952) 447-1977
ottoem50@aol.com
Home church: Holy Trinity (Prior Lake)

Jane Stone
(651) 388-2113
janestone1125@msn.com
Home church: First UMC (Red Wing)

Kathleen Svien
(507) 226-2465
kathleensvien@gmail.com
Home church: Wesley UMC (Winona)

Renee Wilson
(507) 261-5413
retgmrenee@gmail.com
Home church: Stewartville UMC

Southern Prairie

Ricardo (Ric) Arbuckle
(320) 583-5057
ricarbuckle@gmail.com
Home church: Vineyard UMC (Hutchinson)

Dale Baruth
(507) 235-5579
dale@umcfairmont.org
Home church: Fairmont UMC

Peter Bell
(320) 260-4499
jankeaveny@gmail.com
Home church: Oakwood UMC (New Ulm)

Kathlyn (Kate) Billett
(507) 236-8750
billett2655@midco.net
Home church: Fairmont UMC

Karen Boots
(507) 644-3093 or (507) 430-4729 (cell)
boots.karen@gmail.com
Home church: First UMC (Redwood Falls)

Kathy Burket
507-430-7477
kmbnpmejb@yahoo.com
Home Church: First UMC (Redwood Fals)

Leon Hixon
(507) 525-4916
tidepuddle@msn.com
Home church: Hope UMC (Blue Earth)

 Jan Keaveny
(320) 260-4499
jankeaveny@gmail.com
Home church: Oakwood UMC (New Ulm)

Raymond LaVoie
(605) 742-4121
rjzword@yahoo.com
Home church: Montevideo UMC

Jenny Lewis
(507) 327-9363
jenny.a.lewis01@gmail.com
Home church: Hope UMC (Blue Earth)

T.J. Lewis
(507) 995-2008
timothy.j.lewis@gmail.com
Home church: Hope UMC (Blue Earth)

Lloyd Peterson
(507) 532-5916
rennaepetersen@charter.net
Home church: Cornerstone UMC (Marshall)

Marilyn Swan
(507) 354-5633
swanmarilyn@comcast.net
Home church: First UMC (New Ulm)

Trent Tumbleson
(507) 639-6317
tumbles@yourstarnet.net
Home church: Trimont UMC

Twin Cities

Beth Beaty
(612) 386-7587
babeaty@gmail.com
Home church: Hamline Church (St. Paul)

Kieu-Ngan Doan
(952) 334-8492
kieudoan11@gmail.com
Home church: Faith Vietnamese Fellowship
(Eden Prairie)

Paul Hoekstra
(630) 701-8170
paul.hoekstra@att.net
Home church: Messiah UMC (Plymouth)

Anita Thompson 
(763) 785-1555 or (612) 819-1112
neatnurse@aol.com
Home church: Community UMC (Columbia Heights)

Hien Vo
(763) 496-7588
hienhau9647@yahoo.com
Home church: Faith Vietnamese Fellowship (Eden Prairie)


Minnesota Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church

122 West Franklin Avenue, Suite 400 Minneapolis, MN 55404

info@minnesotaumc.org

(612) 870-0058